The Priestly Fraternity of Saint Peter

The Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter (FSSP) is a Society of Apostolic Life of Pontifical Right, canonically erected by Pope St. John Paul II in 1988.  The particular charism and mission of the FSSP is to offer the Sacred Liturgy, including the Holy Mass and the Divine Office, as well as the Sacraments, in all of their traditional solemnity, according to the Latin liturgical books of 1962. 

Our name denotes our thanksgiving, filial love, and loyalty to the supreme Pontiff.

The Fraternity’s name denotes our thanksgiving, filial love, and loyalty to the supreme Pontiff, who encourages our growth, as well as the brotherly unity in Christ that our priests strive to characterize in their lives and work. The Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter has close to three hundred priests serving in over one hundred dioceses throughout the world with international headquarters in Fribourg, Switzerland. 

St. Peter’s Seminary

St Peter’s seminary in Wigratzbad

The Seminary of St. Peter, located in Wigratzbad, Germany is the first seminary founded by the Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter.  This seminary is located at a Marian Shrine in southern Bavaria close to Lake Constance.  Men study there in the French and German languages, and live together in common in the seminary complex.  For more information, see

Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary

Our Lady of Guadalupe seminary in Denton, Nebraska

The second seminary,  is named for Our Lady of Guadalupe, Patroness of the Americas. By God’s grace, enrollment has grown steadily since the FSSP first opened a seminary in the United States in 1993. O.L.G.S. now houses over 75 men studying for the priesthood

The Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter is profoundly indebted to Divine Providence and the many faithful who have generously contributed to our progress and the continuing inspiration that the traditional liturgies bring to souls.